New York - New York’s ban on texting or otherwise using portable electronic devices while driving goes into effect on Sunday.
State officials say the goal is to reduce accidents from distracted driving.
The new law, however, is considered a secondary offense, meaning the driver must have committed a primary offense—such as speeding, disobeying a traffic signal or other violation—in order to receive a ticket.
The law doesn’t forbid the use of GPS devices and you can still use hands-free phones.
Violators face fines of up to $150.
More of today's headlines“New York City - Starting this Sunday, an extra 50-cent surcharge will be added on all taxi rides. The fare hike was passed by the state Legislature back in May as...” New York City - Taxi Fares To Increase This Sunday “New York, NY - Two weeks before the election, Mayor Bloomberg told Orthodox Jewish leaders in a private meeting that he planned to restore $8 million in day-care...” New York, NY - Bloomberg Restores $8M in Yeshivah Vouchers Until June 30 2010